Word Week 2021

Noe Valley’s literary festival Word Week 2021 is set for March 8-14. All events will be virtual. Get ready to Zoom! The audience limit on each event is 100 people. All events are free.

Here's the lineup. You can rsvp at the Facebook event page link or by emailing wordweeknoevalley@gmail.com and letting them know which event or events you definitely want to attend. If you rsvp by Facebook, you’ll be sent the Zoom information by Messenger. If by email, it will come by return email. How ever you rsvp, you will receive the Zoom information and be added to the guest list.

Monday, March 8, 7pm: International Women's Day with Naomi Wolf, interviewed by Maxine Einhorn RESERVE YOUR SPOT at https://bit.ly/3jA6xjx

Tuesday, March 9, 7pm: Why We Are Not a "Nation of Immigrants" with Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz & Mary Jo McConahay RESERVE YOUR SPOT at https://bit.ly/3tLhnYl
Signed copies available for order and preorder for both authors, please put personalization requests in order notes.

Wednesday, March 10, 7pm: Black Literature, Black Lives with Julie Lythcott-Haims, Ayodele Nzinga*, and Maurice Ruffin with discussion by Gar McVey Rusell to follow RESERVE YOUR SPOT at https://bit.ly/3jGdorI
Signed copies available for order and preorder from Julie Lythcott-Haims and Gar McVey Russell, please put personalization requests in order notes.

Thursday, March 11, 7pm: Angel Island Detainee Poetry with Jeffrey Thomas Leong RESERVE YOUR SPOT at http://bit.ly/2ZaCyoC
Signed copies available for order, please put personalization requests in order notes.

Friday, March 12, 7pm: Leah Garchik & Ruthe Stein from SF Chronicle, in conversation with Maxine Einhorn RESERVE YOUR SPOT at http://bit.ly/3pe5OFB

Saturday, March 13, two events!

11am (7pm Dublin time): Colm Toibin, Paula Meehan, and Michelle Gallen: Contemporary Irish Literature RESERVE YOUR SPOT at http://bit.ly/3rIL8Ya

7pm: Noir Not at the Bar: crime novels and virtual cocktails with Cara Black, Jasmine Almaq, Rachel Howzell Hall, and Naomi Hirahara RESERVE YOUR SPOT at https://bit.ly/3qf3UGa
Signed copies available for order from Cara Black, please put personalization requests in order notes. 

Sunday, March 14, 7pm: Noe Poets Pandemic Poems with Kristin Belshaw, Susan Dambroff, Jeff Doleman, Eveline Kanes, Marylee McNeal, Hal Savage**, and Kim Shuck RESERVE YOUR SPOT at http://bit.ly/3rSZZ27
Signed copies available for order from Susan Dambroff, Jeff Doleman, Eveline Kanes, Hal Savage, and Kim Shuck, please put personalization requests in order notes.


*Ayodele Nzinga's book available directly from the publisher here
**Hal Savage's book available for in-store purchase - email orders@foliosf.com to reserve your copy

Outrages: Sex, Censorship, and the Criminalization of Love Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781645020165
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Chelsea Green Publishing Company - October 9th, 2020

From New York Times bestselling author Naomi Wolf, Outrages explores the history of state-sponsored censorship and violations of personal freedoms through the inspiring, forgotten history of one writer's refusal to stay silenced.

Newly updated, first North American edition--a paperback original


Big Girl, Small Town Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643750897
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Algonquin Books - December 1st, 2020

“An immensely lovable debut novel . .


The Opium Prince Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781641291583
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Soho Crime - December 1st, 2020

Jasmine Aimaq’s stunning debut explores Afghanistan on the eve of a violent revolution and the far-reaching consequences of a young Kochi girl’s tragic death.


We Cast a Shadow: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525509073
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: One World - February 4th, 2020

“An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white


The Ones Who Don't Say They Love You: Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593133408
Availability: Available for Pre-Order
Published: One World - August 17th, 2021

A collection of raucous stories that offer a panoramic view of New Orleans from the author of the "stunning and audacious" (NPR) debut novel We Cast a Shadow


Sin Against the Race Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780999381502
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Gamr Books - October 29th, 2017

Alfonso Rutherford Berry III--son of a city councilman, grandson of the state's first African American legislator--believes that history has ordained for him but one life, and it ain't his first love: dancing. But after a series of tragedies, starting with the death of his fierce, out cousin Carlton, his assumptions explode in his face along with his closet door.


Real American: A Memoir Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250296733
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - August 21st, 2018

A fearless debut memoir in which beloved and bestselling How to Raise an Adult author Julie Lythcott-Haims pulls no punches in her recollections of growing up a black woman in America

“Courageous, achingly honest."

—Michelle Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness


Deer Trails: San Francisco Poet Laureate Series No. 7 Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781931404181
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: City Lights Books - July 30th, 2019

2019 NCIBA Golden Poppy Award Winner - Poetry

***

San Francisco's 7th poet laureate--a Native American and native San Franciscan--explores urban space and the natural world.


Three Hours in Paris Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781641290418
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Soho Crime - April 7th, 2020

In June of 1940, when Paris fell to the Nazis, Hitler spent a total of three hours in the City of Light—abruptly leaving, never to return. To this day, no one knows why.


And Now She's Gone: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250753175
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Forge Books - September 22nd, 2020

“Sharp, witty and perfectly paced, And Now She’s Gone is one hell of a read!” —Wendy Walker, bestselling author of The Night Before

Isabel Lincoln is gone.

But is she missing?


Traveling Through Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781646622955
Availability: At the Store Now
(Due to distributor limitations, sales of this book are final - it cannot be returned to us.)
Published: Finishing Line Press - October 2nd, 2020

Poet-Literary Translator, Eveline L. Kanes, listened to other voices as she found and added her own. Traveling Through describes her long life's journey in a changing world.



House of Names: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501140228
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Scribner - March 6th, 2018

* A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year
* Named a Best Book of 2017 by NPR, The Guardian, The Boston Globe, St.


The Magician: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781476785080
Availability: Available for Pre-Order
Published: Scribner - September 7th, 2021

From one of today’s most brilliant and beloved novelists, a dazzling, epic family saga set across a half-century spanning World War I, the rise of Hitler, World War II, and the Cold War.


Clark and Division Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781641292498
Availability: Available for Pre-Order
Published: Soho Crime - August 3rd, 2021

Set in 1944 Chicago, Edgar Award-winner Naomi Hirahara's eye-opening and poignant new mystery, the story of a young woman searching for the truth about her revered older sister's death, brings to focus the struggles of one Japanese American family released from mass incarceration at Manzanar during World War II.


Not
$29.95
ISBN: 9780807036297
Availability: Available for Pre-Order
Published: Beacon Press - August 24th, 2021

Debunks the pervasive and self-congratulatory myth that our country is proudly founded by and for immigrants, and urges readers to embrace a more complex and honest history of the United States
 


An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States for Young People (ReVisioning History for Young People #2) Cover Image
By Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Jean Mendoza (Adapted by), Debbie Reese (Adapted by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780807049396
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Beacon Press - July 23rd, 2019

2020 American Indian Youth Literature Young Adult Honor Book

2020 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People,selected by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and the Children’s Book Council


The Tango War: The Struggle for the Hearts, Minds and Riches of Latin America During World War II Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250091239
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - September 18th, 2018

One of WW2 Reads "Top 20 Must-Read WWII Books of 2018" • A Christian Science Monitor Best Book of September One of The Progressive's "Favorite Books of 2018"


Maya Roads: One Woman's Journey Among the People of the Rainforest Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781569765487
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Chicago Review Press - August 1st, 2011

Northern California Book Award Recipient 

In Maya Roads, McConahay draws upon her three decades of traveling and living in Central America's remote landscapes to create a fascinating chronicle of the people, politics, archaeology, and species of the Central American rainforest, the cradle of Maya civilization.


Ricochet: Two women war reporters and a friendship under fire Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9780988814394
Availability: At the Store Now
(Due to distributor limitations, sales of this book are final - it cannot be returned to us.)
Published: Wayne Goodman - June 14th, 2016

When three colleagues die violently during a single wartime election day in Central America, two female journalists, best friends, are hurled into a torrent of change in their personal and professional lives and in their relationship with each other.


Conversations with Trees Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781635344271
Availability: At the Store Now
(Due to distributor limitations, sales of this book are final - it cannot be returned to us.)
Published: Finishing Line Press - March 2nd, 2018