Women's History Month

The Soul of a Woman Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780593355626
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Ballantine Books - March 2nd, 2021

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Long Petal of the Sea comes “a bold exploration of womanhood, feminism, parenting, aging, love and more” (Associated Press).

The Soul of a Woman is Isabel Allende’s most liberating book yet.”—Elle


The Three Mothers: How the Mothers of Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, and James Baldwin Shaped a Nation Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250756121
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Flatiron Books - February 2nd, 2021

"Tubbs' connection to these women is palpable on the page — as both a mother and a scholar of the impact Black motherhood has had on America. Through Tubbs' writing, Berdis, Alberta, and Louise's stories sing. Theirs is a history forgotten that begs to be told, and Tubbs tells it brilliantly."


The Barbizon: The Hotel That Set Women Free Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982123895
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 2nd, 2021

From award-winning author Paulina Bren comes the “captivating portrait” (The Wall Street Journal) of New York’s most famous residential hotel—The Barbizon—and the remarkable women who lived there.

Welcome to New York’s legendary hotel for women.

Liberated from home and hearth by World War I, politically enfranchised and ready to work


Midnight in Cairo: The Divas of Egypt's Roaring '20s Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780393541137
Availability: Available to Order
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 9th, 2021

A vibrant portrait of the talented and entrepreneurial women who defined an era in Cairo.


The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781982115852
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 9th, 2021

The bestselling author of Leonardo da Vinci and Steve Jobs returns with a “compelling” (The Washington Post) account of how Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna and her colleagues launched a revolution that will allow us to cure diseases, fend off viruses, and have healthier babies.

When Jennifer Doudna was in sixth grade, she came home one day to find


Our Tarot: A Guidebook and Deck Featuring Notable Women in History Cover Image
$39.99
ISBN: 9780062909855
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Harper Design - September 29th, 2020

Packaged in a deluxe, shrink-wrapped keepsake box—featuring a magnetic closure, ribbon, and guidebook—an innovative and stunning full-color feminist tarot deck that connects 78 notable women from history with the traditional archetypes and meanings associated with each tarot card.

A groundbreaking blend of history, feminism, and the mystical arts, Our T


The Agitators: Three Friends Who Fought for Abolition and Women's Rights Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781476760735
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Scribner - March 30th, 2021

“Engrossing...


Bookish Broads: Women Who Wrote Themselves into History Cover Image
By Lauren Marino, Alexandra Kilburn (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419746239
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Abrams Image - February 9th, 2021

A boldly illustrated celebration of literary history’s most revolutionary, talented women writers
 
Women have written some of our most extraordinary literary works while living in societies and cultures that tried to silence them. These women dared to put pen to paper to express the multifaceted female experience.


Kusama: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781786277169
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Laurence King Publishing - September 15th, 2020

From rural Japan to international icon - Yayoi Kusama has spent her remarkable life immersed in her art.

Follow her incredible journey in this vivid graphic biography which details her bold departure from Japan as a young artist, her embrace of the buzzing New York art scene in the 1960s, and her eventual return home and rise to twenty-first-century super-fame.


Suffrage: Women's Long Battle for the Vote Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781501165184
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - February 23rd, 2021

Honoring the 100th anniversary of the 19th amendment to the Constitution, this “indispensable” book (Ellen Chesler, Ms. magazine) explores the full scope of the movement to win the vote for women through portraits of its bold leaders and devoted activists.

Distinguished historian Ellen Carol DuBois begins in the pre-Civil War years with foremothers Lucretia Mott, E


Staff Pick Badge
Circe Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316556323
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Back Bay Books - April 14th, 2020

"A bold and subversive retelling of the goddess's story," this #1 New York Times bestseller is "both epic and intimate in its scope, recasting the most infamous female figure from the Odyssey as a hero in her own right" (Alexandra Alter, The New York Times).


Cassandra Speaks: When Women Are the Storytellers, the Human Story Changes Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062887184
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Harper Wave - September 15th, 2020

What story would Eve have told about picking the apple? Why is Pandora blamed for opening the box? And what about the fate of Cassandra who was blessed with knowing the future but cursed so that no one believed her? What if women had been the storytellers?


She Came to Slay: The Life and Times of Harriet Tubman Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9781982139599
Availability: Available to Order
Published: 37 Ink - November 5th, 2019

In the bestselling tradition of The Notorious RBG comes a lively, informative, and illustrated tribute to one of the most exceptional women in American history—Harriet Tubman—a heroine whose fearlessness and activism still resonates today.

Harriet Tubman is best known as one of the most famous conductors on the Underground Railroad.


Reclaiming Her Time: The Power of Maxine Waters Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062992031
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Dey Street Books - October 20th, 2020

Named a Best Political Book of the Year by The Atlantic


Ida B. the Queen: The Extraordinary Life and Legacy of Ida B. Wells Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982129811
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Atria/One Signal Publishers - January 26th, 2021

Journalist. Suffragist. Antilynching crusader. In 1862, Ida B. Wells was born enslaved in Holly Springs, Mississippi. In 2020, she won a Pulitzer Prize.

Ida B. Wells committed herself to the needs of those who did not have power. In the eyes of the FBI, this made her a “dangerous negro agitator.” In the annals of history, it makes her an icon.

Ida B.


A Black Women's History of the United States Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780807001998
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Beacon Press - March 16th, 2021

2021 NAACP Image Award Nominee: Outstanding Literary Work – Non-Fiction

Honorable Mention for the 2021 Organization of American Historians Darlene Clark Hine Award


No Stopping Us Now: The Adventures of Older Women in American History Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316286503
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Back Bay Books - October 13th, 2020

The beloved New York Times columnist "inspires women to embrace aging and look at it with a new sense of hope" in this lively, fascinating, eye-opening look at women and aging in America (Parade Magazine).

"You're not getting older, you're getting better," or so promised the famous 1970's ad -- for women's hair dye.


My Baby First Birthday Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781947793811
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Tin House Books - May 12th, 2020

A New York Public Library Best Book of 2020

A Best Read of 2020 at Ms. Magazine

"To read Jenny Zhang is to embrace primal states: pleasure, hunger, longing and rage." —TIME


Mouths of Rain: An Anthology of Black Lesbian Thought Cover Image
By Briona Simone Jones (Editor)
$22.99
ISBN: 9781620975763
Availability: Backordered - No Estimated Arrival Date
Published: New Press - February 23rd, 2021

A Ms. magazine, Refinery29, and Lambda Literary Most Anticipated Read of 2021

A groundbreaking collection tracing the history of intellectual thought by Black Lesbian writers, in the tradition of The New Press's perennial seller Words of Fire


Confident Women: Swindlers, Grifters, and Shapeshifters of the Feminine Persuasion Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062956033
Availability: Backordered - No Estimated Arrival Date
Published: Harper Perennial - February 23rd, 2021

A thoroughly entertaining and darkly humorous roundup of history’s notorious but often forgotten female con artists and their bold, outrageous scams—by the acclaimed author of Lady Killers.


Women in White Coats: How the First Women Doctors Changed the World of Medicine Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780778389392
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Park Row - March 2nd, 2021

For fans of Hidden Figures and Radium Girls comes the remarkable story of three Victorian women who broke down barriers in the medical field to become the first women doctors, revolutionizing the way women receive health care.