Trans Awareness Month

Before We Were Trans: A New History of Gender By Dr. Kit Heyam, Ph.D Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781541603080
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Seal Press - September 13th, 2022

A groundbreaking global history of gender nonconformity  

Today’s narratives about trans people tend to feature individuals with stable gender identities that fit neatly into the categories of male or female. Those stories, while important, fail to account for the complex realities of many trans people’s lives.


Detransition, Baby: A Novel By Torrey Peters Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593133385
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: One World - October 5th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER The lives of three women—transgender and cisgender—collide after an unexpected pregnancy forces them to confront their deepest desires in “one of the most celebrated novels of the year” (Time)

“Reading this novel is like holding a live wire in your hand.”—Vulture


Nevada: A Novel By Imogen Binnie Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780374606619
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - June 7th, 2022

One of Vogue's Best Books of 2022 So Far, Buzzfeed's Summer Books You Won’t Be Able To Put Down,
Book Riot's Best Summer Reads for 2022, and Dazed's Queer Books to Read in 2022


Light From Uncommon Stars By Ryka Aoki Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250789082
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Tor Books - July 26th, 2022

Good Omens meets The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet in Ryka Aoki's Light From Uncommon Stars, a defiantly joyful adventure set in California's San Gabriel Valley, with cursed violins, Faustian bargains, and queer alien courtship over fresh-made donuts.


Welcome to St. Hell: My Trans Teen Misadventure: A Graphic Novel By Lewis Hancox Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338824438
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Graphix - June 7th, 2022

A groundbreaking memoir about being a trans teen, in the vein of FUN HOME and FLAMER... and at the same time entirely its own.

Lewis has a few things to say to his younger teen self. He knows she hates her body. He knows she's confused about who to snog. He knows she's really a he and will ultimately realize this...


Fairest: A Memoir By Meredith Talusan Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525561323
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 8th, 2021

Finalist for the 2021 Lambda Literary Award for Transgender Nonfiction
 
"Talusan sails past the conventions of trans and immigrant memoirs." --The New York Times Book Review

"A ball of light hurled into the dark undertow of migration and survival." --Ocean Vuong, author of On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous


Magical Boy Volume 1: A Graphic Novel By The Kao, The Kao (Illustrator) Cover Image
By The Kao, The Kao (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781338775525
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Graphix - February 1st, 2022

A breathtakingly imaginative fantasy series starring Max—a high schooler chosen to become the next "Magical Girl." There's just one catch . . . he's a trans boy!

Although he was assigned female at birth, Max is your average trans man trying to get through high school as himself.


Wrath Goddess Sing: A Novel By Maya Deane Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063161184
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: William Morrow - June 7th, 2022

“Deane’s tour de force debut …brings the familiar story to fresh, vivid, and unforgettable new life.” – Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Margaret and the Mystery of the Missing Body By Megan Milks Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781952177804
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Amethyst Editions - September 14th, 2021

"A delightfully weird and very queer reimagining of 90s YA nostalgia." --Autostraddle

"Queer dynamite." --Kristen Arnett, author of Mostly Dead Things


The Story of the Hundred Promises By Neil Cochrane Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781942436515
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Forest Avenue Press - October 4th, 2022

A queer, deconstructed version of the "Beauty and the Beast" fairy taleTrans sailor Darragh Thorn has made a comfortable life for himself among people who love and accept him. Ten years after his exile from home, though, his sister asks him to reconcile with their ailing father.


The Actual Star: A Novel By Monica Byrne Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063002906
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Harper Voyager - August 16th, 2022

David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas meets Octavia Butler’s Earthseed series, as acclaimed author Monica Byrne (The Girl in the Road) crafts an unforgettable piece of speculative fiction about where humanity came from, where we are now, and where we’re going—and how, in every age, the same forces that drive us apart also bind us together.


Dead Collections: A Novel By Isaac Fellman Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143136910
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 22nd, 2022

A whirlwind romance between an eccentric archivist and a grieving widow explores what it means to be at home in your own body in this clever, humorous, and heartfelt novel.


If I Was Your Girl By Meredith Russo Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250078414
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Flatiron Books - June 26th, 2018

Meredith Russo's award-winning, big-hearted novel If I Was Your Girl is about being seen for who you really are, with a love story you can't help but root for!

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school. Like anyone else, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret, and she’s determined not to get too close to anyone.


Lote By Shola Von Reinhold Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781478018728
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Duke University Press - June 21st, 2022

Solitary Mathilda has long harbored a conflicted enchantment bordering on rapture with the "Bright Young Things," the Bloomsbury Group, and their contemporaries of the '20s and '30s, and throughout her life her attempts at reinvention have mirrored their extravagance and artfulness.


An Unkindness of Ghosts By Rivers Solomon Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781617755880
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Akashic Books - October 3rd, 2017

One of the Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Books of the past decade, selected by NPR

One of the 50 Best Sci-Fi Books of All Time, selected by Esquire

One of the 100 Most Influential Queer Books of All Time, selected by Booklist


Felix Ever After By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062820266
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - April 20th, 2021

A Stonewall Honor Book * A Time Magazine Best YA Book of All Time

From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.


Cemetery Boys By Aiden Thomas Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250250469
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Swoon Reads - September 1st, 2020

A trans boy determined to prove his gender to his traditional Latinx family summons a ghost who refuses to leave in Aiden Thomas's New York Times-bestselling paranormal YA debut Cemetery Boys, described by Entertainment Weekly as "groundbreaking."

Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can't get rid of him.


Pet By Akwaeke Emezi Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593175446
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 19th, 2021

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST • STONEWALL BOOK AWARD WINNER • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by The New York Times • Time • Buzzfeed • NPRNew York Public Library • Publishers Weekly • School Library Journal


Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity By Julia Serano Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781580056229
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Seal Press - March 8th, 2016

“A foundational text for anyone hoping to understand transgender politics and culture in the U.S.


I Wish You All the Best By Mason Deaver Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781338608359
Availability: Available to Order
Published: PUSH - May 5th, 2020

Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's stunning debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.

"Heartfelt, romantic, and quietly groundbreaking. This book will save lives." -- Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs.


Confessions of the Fox: A Novel By Jordy Rosenberg Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780399592287
Availability: Available to Order
Published: One World - March 5th, 2019

New York Times Editors’ Choice: “A mind-bending romp through a gender-fluid, eighteenth century London . . . a joyous mash-up of literary genres shot through with queer theory and awash in sex, crime, and revolution.”


Her Majesty's Royal Coven: A Novel (The HMRC Trilogy #1) By Juno Dawson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143137146
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 31st, 2022

“Superb and almost unbearably charming, Her Majesty’s Royal Coven… expertly launches an exciting new trilogy."The New York Times Book Review
 


Black on Both Sides: A Racial History of Trans Identity By C. Riley Snorton Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781517901738
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Univ Of Minnesota Press - December 5th, 2017

Winner of the John Boswell Prize from the American Historical Association 2018
Winner of the William Sanders Scarborough Prize from the Modern Language Association 2018
Winner of an American Library Association Stonewall Honor 2018
Winner of Lambda Literary Award for Transgender Nonfiction 2018
Winner of the Sylvia Rivera Award in Transgender Studies from th


The Women's House of Detention: A Queer History of a Forgotten Prison By Hugh Ryan Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781645036661
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Bold Type Books - May 10th, 2022

This singular history of a prison, and the queer women and trans people held there, is a window into the policing of queerness and radical politics in the twentieth century.

The Women’s House of Detention, a landmark that ushered in the modern era of women’s imprisonment, is now largely forgotten.