Trans Authors & Stories

Transgender History, second edition: The Roots of Today's Revolution (Seal Studies) By Susan Stryker Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781580056892
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Seal Press - November 7th, 2017

Covering American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, Transgender History takes a chronological approach to the subject of transgender history, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events.


This Body I Wore: A Memoir By Diana Goetsch Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374115098
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - May 24th, 2022

A Washington Post Best Book of the Year

A captivating memoir of one woman’s long journey to late transition, as the trans community emerges alongside her.


“Achingly beautiful.” —Manuel Betancourt, The New York Times Book Review


Nevada: A Novel By Imogen Binnie Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780374606619
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - June 7th, 2022

One of Vogue's Best Books of 2022 So Far, Buzzfeed's Summer Books You Won’t Be Able To Put Down,
Book Riot's Best Summer Reads for 2022, and Dazed's Queer Books to Read in 2022


Detransition, Baby: A Novel By Torrey Peters Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593133385
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: One World - October 5th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER The lives of three women—transgender and cisgender—collide after an unexpected pregnancy forces them to confront their deepest desires in “one of the most celebrated novels of the year” (Time)

“Reading this novel is like holding a live wire in your hand.”—Vulture


A Lady for a Duke By Alexis Hall Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538753750
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Forever - May 24th, 2022

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the USA Today bestselling author of Husband Material—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas!
When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself.


My Volcano By John Elizabeth Stintzi Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781953387165
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Two Dollar Radio - March 22nd, 2022

* Winner of the Sator New Works Award.
* New York Public Library's "Best Books of 2022"
* Kirkus Reviews' "Best Fiction Books of 2022"
* 2022 Brooklyn Public Library Book Prize, Longlist.


Her Majesty's Royal Coven: A Novel (The HMRC Trilogy #1) By Juno Dawson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143137146
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 31st, 2022

“Superb and almost unbearably charming, Her Majesty’s Royal Coven… expertly launches an exciting new trilogy."The New York Times Book Review
 


Bad Girls: A Novel By Camila Villada, Kit Maude (Translated by) Cover Image
By Camila Villada, Kit Maude (Translated by)
$24.00
ISBN: 9781635422023
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Other Press - May 10th, 2022

Gritty and unflinching, yet also tender, fantastical, and funny, a trans woman’s tale about finding a community on the margins.
 


Welcome to St. Hell: My Trans Teen Misadventure: A Graphic Novel By Lewis Hancox Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338824438
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Graphix - June 7th, 2022

A groundbreaking memoir about being a trans teen, in the vein of FUN HOME and FLAMER... and at the same time entirely its own.

Lewis has a few things to say to his younger teen self. He knows she hates her body. He knows she's confused about who to snog. He knows she's really a he and will ultimately realize this...


The Thirty Names of Night: A Novel By Zeyn Joukhadar Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781982121525
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Atria Books - July 13th, 2021

Winner of the Lambda Literary Award for Transgender Fiction
Winner of the ALA Stonewall Book Award—Barbara Gittings Literature Award
Named Best Book of the Year by Bustle
Named Most Anticipated Book of the Year by The Millions, Electric Literature, and HuffPost

From the aw


Light From Uncommon Stars By Ryka Aoki Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250789068
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Tor Books - September 28th, 2021

Good Omens meets The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet in Ryka Aoki's Light From Uncommon Stars, a defiantly joyful adventure set in California's San Gabriel Valley, with cursed violins, Faustian bargains, and queer alien courtship over fresh-made donuts.

Hugo Award Finalist
A National Bestseller
Indie Next Pick


Summer Fun By Jeanne Thornton Cover Image
$17.00
Not Available from Us
ISBN: 9781641293730
Published: Soho Press - June 7th, 2022

Winner of the 2022 Lammy Award for Transgender Fiction

From acclaimed author Jeanne Thornton, an epic, singular look at fandom, creativity, longing, and trans identity.


Cheer Up: Love and Pompoms By Crystal Frasier, Val Wise (Illustrator), Oscar O. Jupiter (Letterer) Cover Image
By Crystal Frasier, Val Wise (Illustrator), Oscar O. Jupiter (Letterer)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781620109557
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Oni Press - August 10th, 2021

2021 Goodreads Choice Award Finalist
2021 New York Public Library Best Books for Teens
2021 Cybils Award Winner
2022 GLAAD Media Award Winner
2022 Lambda Literary Award Finalist


 


A sweet, queer teen romance perfect for fans of Heartstopper and Check, Please!

Annie is a smart, antisocial lesbian starting her s


What's the T?: The Guide to All Things Trans and/or Nonbinary By Juno Dawson Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781728254036
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - June 7th, 2022

Discover what it means to be a young transgender and/or non-binary person in the twenty-first century in this candid and funny guide for teens from the bestselling author of This Book is Gay.


Manhunt By Gretchen Felker-Martin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250794642
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Tor Nightfire - February 22nd, 2022

"By far the best book I've read this year.” —Roxane Gay

Named Vulture's #1 Best Book of 2022, Manhunt is an explosive post-apocalyptic novel that follows trans women and trans men on a grotesque journey of survival.

“A modern horror masterpiece.” —Carmen Maria Machado


Dead Collections: A Novel By Isaac Fellman Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143136910
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 22nd, 2022

A whirlwind romance between an eccentric archivist and a grieving widow explores what it means to be at home in your own body in this clever, humorous, and heartfelt novel.


Please Miss: A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Penis By Grace Lavery Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781541620650
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Seal Press - February 8th, 2022

“The queer memoir you’ve been waiting for”—Carmen Maria Machado

Grace Lavery is a reformed druggie, an unreformed omnisexual chaos Muppet, and 100 percent, all-natural, synthetic female hormone monster.


The Women's House of Detention: A Queer History of a Forgotten Prison By Hugh Ryan Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781645036661
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Bold Type Books - May 10th, 2022

This singular history of a prison, and the queer women and trans people held there, is a window into the policing of queerness and radical politics in the twentieth century.

The Women’s House of Detention, a landmark that ushered in the modern era of women’s imprisonment, is now largely forgotten.


Patricia Wants to Cuddle By Samantha Allen Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781638930044
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Zando - June 28th, 2022

NPR's Best Books of 2022 - The Millions and LitHub Most Anticipated Books - CrimeReads Best New Fiction - SheReads Best Horror Books Coming in 2022

"A one-of-a-kind queer horror comedy for people who watch The Bachelor and The X-Files back-to-back." --Kirkus Reviews


Felix Ever After By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062820266
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - April 20th, 2021

A Stonewall Honor Book * A Time Magazine Best YA Book of All Time

From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.


Sissy: A Coming-of-Gender Story By Jacob Tobia Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780735218840
Availability: Backordered - No Estimated Arrival Date
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - March 3rd, 2020

THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Transformative ... If Tobia aspires to the ranks of comic memoirists like David Sedaris and Mindy Kaling, Sissy succeeds." --The New York Times Book Review (A Paperback Row Pick)


X: A Novel By Davey Davis Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781646220939
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Catapult - June 28th, 2022

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice

A thrilling portrait of political terror and the violent pleasures found in warehouses, bathrooms, and dungeons across New York City, X is a novel that delves into the psyches of characters on the margins


If I Was Your Girl By Meredith Russo Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250078414
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Flatiron Books - June 26th, 2018

Meredith Russo's award-winning, big-hearted novel If I Was Your Girl is about being seen for who you really are, with a love story you can't help but root for!

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school. Like anyone else, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret, and she’s determined not to get too close to anyone.


Secret Passages By Axelle Lenoir Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781603094993
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Top Shelf Productions - March 22nd, 2022

Welcome to an autobiography from another dimension. A wildly inventive cartoonist begins her imaginary memoir -- exploring the girlhood she never had.


To My Trans Sisters By Charlie Craggs (Editor) Cover Image
By Charlie Craggs (Editor)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781785923432
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Jessica Kingsley Publishers - October 19th, 2017

Lambda Literary Award Finalist - LGBTQ Anthology
2019 Over the Rainbow Recommended Book List


Trap Door: Trans Cultural Production and the Politics of Visibility (Critical Anthologies in Art and Culture) By Reina Gossett (Editor), Eric A. Stanley (Editor), Johanna Burton (Editor) Cover Image
By Reina Gossett (Editor), Eric A. Stanley (Editor), Johanna Burton (Editor)
$50.00
ISBN: 9780262544894
Availability: Available to Order
Published: The MIT Press - April 5th, 2022

Essays, conversations, and archival investigations explore the paradoxes, limitations, and social ramifications of trans representation within contemporary culture.


Gender Euphoria By Laura Kate Dale (Editor) Cover Image
By Laura Kate Dale (Editor)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781800180567
Availability: Backordered - No Estimated Arrival Date
Published: Unbound - April 19th, 2022

GENDER EUPHORIA: a powerful feeling of happiness experienced as a result of moving away from one's birth-assigned gender.


The Third Person By Emma Grove Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9781770466159
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - May 3rd, 2022

A boldly drawn, unforgettable memoir about trauma and the barriers to gender affirming health care


Tomorrow Will Be Different: Love, Loss, and the Fight for Trans Equality By Sarah McBride, Joe Biden (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Sarah McBride, Joe Biden (Foreword by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781524761486
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Crown - March 5th, 2019

“A brave, powerful memoir” (People) that will change the way we look at identity and equality in this country, from the activist elected as the first openly transgender state senator in U.S. history

“The energy and vigor Sarah has brought to the fight for equality is ever present in this book.”—Vice President Kamala Harris