Sally's PIcks

Sally is new to the world of bookselling but a long-time publishing professional. She's had the privilege of working with many talented children's book authors including Eric Carle, Roald Dahl, Madeleine L'Engle, Christian Robinson, and Sophie Blackall. On her shelves, you'll find middle grade classics, contemporary and fantasy YA, select literary fiction, and lots and lots of picture books. Monday through Friday, Sally works as a strategy consultant for publishers and book-related non-profit organizations. And in her down time, you'll find Sally chasing down her misbehaving cat Charlie or escaping to a deserted beach.

Staff Pick Badge
A Is for Bee: An Alphabet Book in Translation By Ellen Heck Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646141272
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Levine Querido - June 14th, 2022

Did you know there are roughly 6,500 spoken languages around the world? In English, "bear" starts with a "b" sound but ask around and you'll find that in at least three other languages, the word for bear begins with an "x". This is not your average alphabet or animal book! A Is for Bee is a fresh and brilliant take on both and a valuable primer on the exquisite diversity of the world's many languages.


Staff Pick Badge
Will It Be Okay? By Crescent Dragonwagon, Jessica Love (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781951836504
Availability: Backordered - No Estimated Arrival Date
Published: Cameron Kids - September 6th, 2022

"Will it be okay?" "Yes, it will." When you're feeling nervous, overwhelmed, cranky or confused, all you really want to hear is that it's going to be okay--that one way or another things will work out. In this warm hug of a picture book, a young child faces a variety of worrisome situations and immediately turns to her mom for answers. Whether it's the unfamiliar sounds of a thunderstorm or the fear of performing on stage or even the possibility of losing a loved one, the mother affirms her child's feelings and assures her that things will indeed be okay. Beautifully illustrated by the award-winning Jessica Love, Will It Be Okay? is perfect in times of unexpected stress or as an any day bedtime read-aloud.


Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body By Roxane Gay Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062420718
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Harper Perennial - June 12th, 2018

From the New York Times bestselling author of Bad Feminist: a searingly honest memoir of food, weight, self-image, and learning how to feed your hunger while taking care of yourself.


The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) By Kelly Barnhill Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781616207465
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - April 30th, 2019

The beloved, Newbery Medal–winning classic is now in paperback!


Leave Me Alone! By Vera Brosgol, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Vera Brosgol, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626724419
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Roaring Brook Press - September 13th, 2016

A 2017 Caldecott Honor Book that The New York Times calls “both classic and ultracontemporary,” Leave Me Alone! is an epic tale about one grandmother, a giant sack of yarn, and her ultimate quest to finish her knitting.


My Absolute Darling: A Novel By Gabriel Tallent Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735211186
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Riverhead Books - June 26th, 2018

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST
NBCC JOHN LEONARD PRIZE FINALIST
ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES'S MOST NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2017
ONE OF THE WASHINGTON POST’S MOST NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2017
ONE OF NPR’S ‘GREAT READS’ OF 2017
A USA TODAY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR


Captain Starfish By Davina Bell, Allison Colpoys (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Davina Bell, Allison Colpoys (Illustrator)
$16.99
Not Available from Us
ISBN: 9781419728372
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - March 20th, 2018

New York Public Library's Children's Books: 100 Books for Reading and Sharing
Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) Choices
ILA CBC Children's Choices List


A quiet boy with anxiety learns to shine in this award-winning picture book that celebrates introversion

Alfie wants to participate in the best parts of being a kid, from his


Staff Pick Badge
All Our Wrong Todays: A Novel By Elan Mastai Cover Image
$16.00
Not Available from Us
ISBN: 9781101985151
Published: Dutton - February 20th, 2018

“Entertainingly mixes thrills and humor.”Entertainment Weekly

“[An] amazing debut novel....Dazzling and complex....Fearlessly funny storytelling.”—The Washington Post


Take This Man: A Memoir By Brando Skyhorse Cover Image
Not Available from Us
ISBN: 9781439170892
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 23rd, 2015

Named one of Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Books of 2014
One of NBC News’s 10 Best Latino Books of 2014

“A West Coast version of Augusten Burroughs’s Running With Scissors...A funny, shocking, generous-hearted book” (Entertainment Weekly) about a boy, his five stepfathers, and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but


Nancy Knows By Cybèle Young Cover Image
Not Available from Us
ISBN: 9781770494824
Published: Tundra Books - August 5th, 2014

Nancy knows she's forgotten something. Something important. When she tries to remember, she thinks of all kinds of other things instead. She remembers things she knows and things she doesn't quite know. She remembers things one way, then another. Sometimes she remembers with her ears or her stomach or even her heart. But Nancy knows she's still forgetting something.


Caraval By Stephanie Garber Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250095268
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Flatiron Books - May 1st, 2018

Welcome, welcome to CARAVAL, Stephanie Garber’s enchanting, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling fantasy debut about two sisters swept up in a mysterious competition filled with magic, heartbreak, and danger


The Bone Season: A Novel By Samantha Shannon Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781632868480
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Bloomsbury USA - February 7th, 2017

From the author of The Priory of the Orange Tree, the New York Times bestselling first novel in the Bone Season series, an epic fantasy about a young woman fighting to use her powers and stay alive in an England entirely different from our own.


Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel (The Emmy Lake Chronicles #1) By AJ Pearce Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501170072
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scribner - May 7th, 2019

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertently becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.


An American Marriage (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel By Tayari Jones Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616208684
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Algonquin Books - February 5th, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES AND WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK

A 2018 BEST OF THE YEAR SELECTION OF NPR  * TIME  * BUSTLE  * O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE  * THE DALLAS MORNING NEWS  * AMAZON.COM

OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB 2018 SELECTION

 
WINNER OF THE 2019 NAACP IMAGE AWARD FOR OUTSTANDI