Recent Sci-Fi and Fantasy Gift Picks

The Lord of the Rings Illustrated Edition Cover Image
$75.00
ISBN: 9780358653035
Availability: Backordered - No Estimated Arrival Date
Published: Mariner Books - November 2nd, 2021

J.R.R.


Pictures by J.R.R. Tolkien Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780358653042
Availability: Available for Pre-Order
Published: Mariner Books - December 14th, 2021

With Christopher Tolkien as your guide, take a tour through this colourful gallery of enchanting art produced by J.R.R. Tolkien and presented in an elegant new slipcased edition.

This collection of pictures, with a text by Christopher Tolkien, now reissued after almost 30 years confirms J.R.R. Tolkien’s considerable talent as an artist.


The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Fantasy: The Definitive Illustrated Guide Cover Image
By Tim Dedopulos (Editor), David Pringle (Editor)
$29.95
ISBN: 9781787393202
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Welbeck Publishing - November 2nd, 2021

This essential reference book details everything the novice needs to know about the genre and everything the well-read fan is calling out for.


Even Greater Mistakes: Stories Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250766502
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Tor Books - November 16th, 2021

In her short story collection, Even Greater Mistakes, Charlie Jane Anders upends genre cliches and revitalizes classic tropes with heartfelt and pants-wettingly funny social commentary.

The woman who can see all possible futures is dating the man who can see the one and only foreordained future.


A Marvellous Light (The Last Binding #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250788870
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Tordotcom - November 2nd, 2021

An Indie Next Pick!
A LibraryReads Pick!
With Four Starred Reviews

Red, White & Royal Blue meets Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell in debut author Freya Marske’s A Marvellous Light, featuring an Edwardian England full of magic, contracts, and conspiracies.


Termination Shock: A Novel Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780063028050
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: William Morrow - November 16th, 2021

From Neal Stephenson — who coined the term "metaverse" in his 1992 novel Snow Crash — comes a sweeping, prescient new thriller that transports readers to a near-future world in which the greenhouse effect has inexorably resulted in a whirling-dervish troposphere of superstorms, rising sea levels, global flooding, merciless heat waves, and virulent, deadly pandemics.


Noor Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780756416096
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: DAW - November 16th, 2021

From Africanfuturist luminary Okorafor comes a new science fiction novel of intense action and thoughtful rumination on biotechnology, destiny, and humanity in a near-future Nigeria.


Light From Uncommon Stars Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250789068
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Tor Books - September 28th, 2021

Good Omens meets The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet in Ryka Aoki's Light From Uncommon Stars, a defiantly joyful adventure set in California's San Gabriel Valley, with cursed violins, Faustian bargains, and queer alien courtship over fresh-made donuts.

A National Bestseller
Indie Next Pick
New York Public Library Top 10 Book of 2021


The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982102548
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Atria Books - September 7th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, a family searches for the truth hidden in their past in this “expertly woven tale of family power, threaded with as much mystery as magic” (V.E. Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author).

The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations.


Staff Pick Badge
Under the Whispering Door Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250217349
Availability: Backordered - No Estimated Arrival Date
Published: Tor Books - September 21st, 2021

A NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, AND INDIE BESTSELLER
An Indie Next Pick!

A Man Called Ove
meets The Good Place in Under the Whispering Door, a delightful queer love story from TJ Klune, author of the New York Times and USA Today bestseller The House in the Cerulean Sea.


Welcome to Charon's Crossing.


A Spindle Splintered (Fractured Fables) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250765352
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Tordotcom - October 5th, 2021

USA Today bestselling author Alix E. Harrow's A Spindle Splintered brings her patented charm to a new version of a classic story. Featuring Arthur Rackham's original illustrations for The Sleeping Beauty, fractured and reimagined.


The Last Graduate: A Novel (The Scholomance #2) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593128862
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Del Rey - September 28th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The specter of graduation looms large as Naomi Novik’s groundbreaking, New York Times bestselling trilogy continues in the stunning sequel to A Deadly Education.


Fan Fiction: A Mem-Noir: Inspired by True Events Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250274366
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 12th, 2021

Brent Spiner’s explosive and hilarious novel is a personal look at the slightly askew relationship between a celebrity and his fans. If the Coen Brothers were to make a Star Trek movie, involving the complexity of fan obsession and sci-fi, this noir comedy might just be the one.


The Wandering Earth Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250796837
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Tor Books - October 26th, 2021

From New York Times bestselling author Cixin Liu, The Wandering Earth is a science fiction short story collection featuring the title tale--the basis for the blockbuster international film, now streaming on Netflix.


The Last House on Needless Street Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250812629
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Tor Nightfire - September 28th, 2021

"The buzz...is real. I've read it and was blown away. It's a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end." —Stephen King

An Indie Next Pick!
A LibraryReads Top 10 Pick!
A Library Journal Editors' Pick! STARRED reviews from Library Journal and Publishers Weekly!


The Complete Ecotopia Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781597145527
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Banyan Tree Books - September 21st, 2021

Published in hardcover for the first time in forty years, two classics of environmental science fiction


Mordew Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250817211
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Tor Books - September 14th, 2021

Alex Pheby's Mordew launches an astonishingly inventive epic fantasy trilogy.

God is dead, his corpse hidden in the catacombs beneath Mordew.


Sistersong Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316320771
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Redhook - October 5th, 2021

“WEAVES A CAPTIVATING SPELL OF MYTH AND MAGIC AROUND THE READER.” —​Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

Three royal siblings fight to keep the old, wild magic of the land alive and the Saxon invaders from their borders in this "absolutely stunning" debut set in ancient Britain and inspired by the folk ballad "The Twa Sisters&quo


Leviathan Falls (The Expanse #9) Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316332910
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Orbit - November 30th, 2021

The biggest science fiction series of the decade comes to an incredible conclusion in the ninth and final novel in James S.A. Corey’s Hugo-award winning space opera that inspired the Prime Original series. 

Hugo Award Winner for Best Series

The Laconian Empire has fallen, setting the thirteen hundred solar systems free from the rule of Winston Duarte.


The Body Scout: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316628723
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Orbit - September 21st, 2021

"Timeless and original...illuminating vast tracts of story with casual wrist-flicks of worldbuilding. The Body Scout is a wild ride, sad and funny, surreal and intelligent."—The New York Times

"I devoured it." —Jonathan Lethem


“Completely weird and still completely real.


The Between: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063157675
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Harper Perennial - October 5th, 2021

“An extraordinary work of humane imagination . . . call it magic realism with soul.”—Locus

“Finely honed . . . always engages and frequently surprises.”—New York Times Book Review