Recent Mystery and Thriller Gift Picks

Silverview: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593490594
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Viking - October 12th, 2021

An instant New York Times bestseller!

In his last completed novel, John le Carré turns his focus to the world that occupied his writing for the past sixty years—the secret world itself.


April in Spain Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781335471406
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Hanover Square Press - October 5th, 2021

*NATIONAL BESTSELLER*

Booker Prize winner John Banville returns with a dark and evocative new mystery set on the Spanish coast


Don't disturb the dead...


The Apollo Murders Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316264532
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Mulholland Books - October 12th, 2021

An exceptional debut thriller and “exciting journey” into the dark heart of the Cold War and the space race from New York Times bestselling author and astronaut Chris Hadfield (Andy Weir, author of The Martian and Project Hail Mary).
 

1973: a final, top-secret mission to the Moon.


The House of Ashes Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781616957414
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Soho Crime - September 7th, 2021

For fans of Gillian Flynn and Tana French, a chilling story of a Northern Irish murder sixty years buried
 


The Guide: A novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525657767
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Knopf - August 24th, 2021

The best-selling author of The River returns with a heart-racing thriller about a young man who is hired by an elite fishing lodge in Colorado, where he uncovers a plot of shocking menace amid the natural beauty of sun-drenched streams and forests.


A Line to Kill: A Novel (A Hawthorne and Horowitz Mystery) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062938169
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Harper - October 19th, 2021

The New York Times bestselling author of the brilliantly inventive The Word Is Murder and The Sentence Is Death returns with his third literary whodunit featuring intrepid detectives Hawthorne and Horowitz.

When Ex-Detective Inspector Daniel Hawthorne and his sidekick, author Anthony Horowitz, are invited to an exclusive literary festival on


Poison for Breakfast Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781324090625
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Liveright - August 31st, 2021

Washington Post Bestseller

A new stand-alone adventure—appropriate for all ages—by Lemony Snicket, one of the twenty-first century’s most beloved authors.

In the years since this publishing house was founded, we have worked with an array of wondrous authors who have brought illuminating clarity to our bewildering world. Now, instead, we bring you Lemony Snicket.


Velvet Was the Night Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593356821
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Del Rey - August 17th, 2021

GOOD MORNING AMERICA BUZZ PICK • From the bestselling author of Mexican Gothic comes a riveting noir about a daydreaming secretary, a lonesome enforcer, and the mystery of a missing woman they’re both desperate to find.


The Man Who Died Twice: A Thursday Murder Club Mystery Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984880994
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - September 28th, 2021

An instant New York Times bestseller!

The second gripping novel in the New York Times bestselling Thursday Murder Club series, soon to be a major motion picture from Steven Spielberg at Amblin Entertainment


Murder Under Her Skin: A Pentecost and Parker Mystery Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780385547123
Availability: Available for Pre-Order
Published: Doubleday - December 7th, 2021

Rex Stout meets Agatha Christie with a fresh twist in the new Pentecost and Parker Mystery, a delightfully hardboiled high-wire act starring two daring woman sleuths dead set on justice as they set out to solve a murder at a traveling circus


Never: A Novel Cover Image
$36.00
ISBN: 9780593300015
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Viking - November 9th, 2021

New York Times Bestseller

The new must-read epic from master storyteller Ken Follett: more than a thriller, it’s an action-packed, globe-spanning drama set in the present day.
 
“A compelling story, and only too realistic.” —Lawrence H. Summers, former U.S. Treasury Secretary


Never Saw Me Coming Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780778311553
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Park Row - September 7th, 2021

"I devoured this riveting book through a day of travel...My desire to rush to the end clashed with my desire to savor every word. Who would be the last psychopath standing?" -- New York Times Book Review


The Madness of Crowds: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel #17) Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250145260
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Minotaur Books - August 24th, 2021

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller
AARP The Magazine – Recommended Summer Reading
CNN – A Most Anticipated Book of August
Bustle – A Most Anticipated Book of August


Chief Inspector Armand Gamache returns to Three Pines in #1 New York Times bestseller Louise Penny's latest spellbinding novel


You’re a coward.


Bullet Train: A Novel Cover Image
By Kotaro Isaka, Sam Malissa (Translated by)
$28.00
ISBN: 9781419756337
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: The Overlook Press - August 3rd, 2021

A dark, satirical thriller by the bestselling Japanese author, following the perilous train ride of five highly motivated assassins—soon to be a major film from Sony starring Brad Pitt, Joey King, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Brian Tyree Henry, Andrew Koji, Hiroyuki Sanada, Michael Shannon, and Benito A Martínez Ocasio, and more

Satoshi—The Prince—looks


Observations by Gaslight: Stories from the World of Sherlock Holmes Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781613162613
Availability: Available for Pre-Order
Published: Mysterious Press - December 21st, 2021

A new collection of Sherlockian tales that shows the Great Detective and his partner, Watson, as their acquaintances saw them


Damascus Station: A Novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780393881042
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - October 5th, 2021

"Damascus Station is the best spy novel I have ever read." —General David Petraeus, former director of the CIA

A CIA officer and his recruit arrive in war-ravaged Damascus to hunt for a killer in this page-turner that offers the "most authentic depiction of modern-day tradecraft in print." (Navy SEAL sniper and New York Times bestselling author Jack Carr).


Five Decembers Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781789096118
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Hard Case Crime - October 26th, 2021

“War, imprisonment, torture, romance…The novel has an almost operatic symmetry, and Kestrel turns a beautiful phrase.”
New York Times

Five Decembers is a gripping thriller, a staggering portrait of war, and a heartbreaking love story, as unforgettable as All the Light We Cannot See.


The Heron's Cry: A Detective Matthew Venn Novel (The Two Rivers Series #2) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250204479
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Minotaur Books - September 7th, 2021

New York Times bestseller Ann Cleeves returns with The Heron's Cry, the extraordinary follow-up to The Long Call, soon to be a major TV series, alongside her two hit TV shows Shetland and Vera.

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!


These Silent Woods: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250793393
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Minotaur Books - November 16th, 2021

A father and daughter living in the remote Appalachian mountains must reckon with the ghosts of their past in Kimi Cunningham Grant's These Silent Woods, a mesmerizing novel of suspense.

No electricity, no family, no connection to the outside world.


We Know You Remember: A Novel (The High Coast Series #1) Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063115064
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: Harper - September 28th, 2021

“Beautifully elegiac and intricately plotted, this is Nordic noir at its best.”—People


The Dark Remains: A Laidlaw Investigation (Jack Laidlaw Novels Prequel) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781609457198
Availability: At the Store Now
Published: World Noir - September 7th, 2021

In this scorching prequel, New York Times best-selling author Ian Rankin and Scottish crime-writing legend William McIlvanney join forces for the first ever case of DC Jack Laidlaw, Glasgow's original gritty detective.